• Babajide EverBlazin

Asisat Oshoala wins fifth CAF's Women's Player of The Year

Nigerian striker, Asisat Oshoala, has been the crowned 2022 CAF women’s Player of the Year for the record of five times - surpassing Perpetua Nkwocha, former Falcons striker who won the accolade on four occasions.

The 27-year-old was announced the winner of the gong ahead of Ajara Nchoug Njoya of Cameroon and Inter Milan and Zambia's Grace Chanda who plays her club football with Kazakhstani side, BIIK Kazygurt.

The Barcelona star becomes the fourth Nigerian to land the women's version of the award, following in the footsteps of Mercy Akide (2001), Nkwocha (2004, 2005, 2010 & 2011) and Cynthia Uwak (2006 & 2007).

Women’s Awards in Full

Club of the Year (Women) – Mamelodi Sundowns

Interclub Player of the Year (Women) - EvelynBadu (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies/Alvaldsnes)

Young Player of the Year (Women) - Evelyn Badu (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies/Alvaldsnes)

Coach of the Year (Women) - Desiree Ellis (South Africa)

22 views0 comments