top of page
  • Babajide EverBlazin

FIFA picks sixteen host cities for 2026 World Cup

World football governing body, FIFA, has announced the sixteen cities in the United States of America, Mexico and Canada that will host the 2026 FIFA World Cup games. The United States will have eleven of the sixteen cities while three Mexican cities and two Canadian cities will also stage the Mundial matches. Seattle, San Francisco, Los Angeles, Kansas City, Dallas, Atlanta, Houston, Boston, Philadelphia, Miami and New York/New Jersey were the US cities named during an event in New York City. Mexico will host matches in Mexico City, Guadalajara and Monterrey while Canada's Vancouver and Toronto were chosen from a preliminary list of twenty two. FIFA president, Gianni Infantino, noted that it was the most competitive selection process for a FIFA World Cup but promised an exciting 2026 World Cup. "It was the most competitive process for a FIFA World Cup, we'll have the world coming here, we'll have an exciting tournament." He added that the venues for the final and the tournament opener would be determined at a later date. "There are still some discussions to go on and we will certainly choose the best cities there as well for the opening and the final, but every match will be a final in this World Cup," Infantino said. It's the second time the US will be hosts of the World Cup, having hosted the Mundial in 1994 while it's Mexico's third time having done so in 1979 and 1986. Meanwhile, the 2026 tournament will mark the first time forty-eight teams will feature at a World Cup since thirty-two teams have been competing since 1998.

6 views0 comments
bottom of page