• tomietoaf

NBA stars included in 49-man list of players invited to D’Tigers camp

The D’Tigers have invited 49 players including several NBA stars to camp in the USA as the Nigerians begin preparation for the 2020 Summer Olympics.

Head coach of the D’Tigers, Mike Brown, has invited Monte Morris of Denver Nuggets; Miye Oni of Utah Jazz; OG Anunoby of Toronto Raptors; Kz Okpala, Festus Ezeli and Precious Achiuwa of Miami Heat.

The Nigerian basketball side has also extended invitation to Udoka Azubuike of Utah Jazz and Jahlil Okafor of Detroit Pistons who are all in line to make their international debut for Nigeria at the summer showdown.

Other players invited are:

Josh Okogie of Minnesota Timberwolves, Gabe Vincent of Miami Heat; Al-farouq Aminu of Chicago Bulls; Jordan Nwora of Milwaukee Bucks and Chimezie Metu of Sacramento Kings will also make their return to the team after their 2019 FIBA World Cup campaign.

Ike Diogu of Bameso; Obi Emegano of Fuenlabrada; Ike Iroegbu of Elan Chalon; Michael Oguine of BC Souffelweyersheim; Zaid Hearst of Alba Fehervar, Hungary;, Ike Nwamu Samara and Michael Gbinije of BC Nevèżíe, Lithuania

Be’er Sheva, Israel), TK Edogi (St. Chamond, France), Joshua Ajayi (Hermine Nantes, France), Keith Omoerah (Poitiers, France) and Michael Eric who recently helped CSKA Moscow of Russia to the European Basketball League.

Festus Ezeli, UC Iroegbu, Ike Ndugba (2021 NBA draft prospect), Mike Okauru (UNC- Wilmington), Ben Uzoh (Rivers Hoopers), Michael Adewunmi (UT-Rio Grand Valley), Aminu Mohammed (Georgetown University), Manny Obaseki (Texas A&M University), Elijah Olaniyi (Stony Brook University) and Chibuzo Agbo (Texas Tech University).

Gideon George (Brigham Young University), Makenzie Mgbako (Gill St. Bernard School), Warith Alatishe (Oregon State University), Efe Abogidi (Washington State University), Stephen Domingo (Lakeland Magic), Emeka Okafor, Clifford Omoruyi (Rutger University) and Ekpe Udoh (Beijing RF, China).

Nigeria are rated highly ahead of the tournament and will hope to finish with the gold medal in Tokyo. They are in group B alongside Australia and winners of the Olympic Qualifying Tournament in Serbia and Croatia from June 29 to July 4, 2021.

1 view0 comments