• Babajide EverBlazin

NFF Elections: Behold the new executives of the Nigeria Football Federation till 2026

Contrary to the expectations of the aggrieved PFAN members, the NFF elections were held in Benin, Edo state capital on Friday with Ibrahim Gusau emerging as the 35th president of the football body.

Gusau replaces the two-term serving Amaju Pinnick whose tenure had folded up on September 20, while other executive members from the six geopolitical zones in the country were elected into the board of the NFF.

For the presidential election, at the end of the first round of voting, Gusau garnered 21 votes which was enough to defeat the outgoing NFF vice president, Barrister Seyi Akinwunmi who came closest to Gusau with 12 votes.

Former second vice president, Mallam Shehu Dikko emerged second runner-up and polled six votes while Abba Yola and Idah Peterside got one vote each.

Given that a convincing winner didn't emerge, which according to FIFA rule, that a winner must score up to 51% votes of the tofal votes cast, a re-run was needed for a winner to emerge.

But to the surprise of many, both Barrister Seyi Akinwunmi and Mallam Shehu Dikko decided to step down from the rerun, but former Nigeria goalkeeper and media officer, Idah Peterside, who polled just one vote after the first session, insisted on contesting the second phase of the poll.

He would end up with one vote again at the second phase of the elections while Gusau had 39 votes to his name, thus emerging winner of the election.

There was a total of 41 votes after the rerun, 40 of them were valid while one was registered as invalid.

Enyimba chairman, Felix Anyasi Agwu was voted the first vice president of the Federation, after polling 23 votes, beating Senator Victor Obinna Ogba who had just 8 votes.

The Enyimba boss will now replace Barrister Seyi Akinwunmi.

The newly elected board members from the six geopolitical zones include Yusuf Ahmed Fresh who polled an absolute majority of 37 votes from the 41 votes cast, to emerge as the Chairman of Chairmen.

Representing the North-Central on the board is Rt Hon. Margaret Icheen who got 22 votes against Mohammed Alkali who got 19.

For the North East, Alhaji Babagana Kalli, after polling 23 votes, leaving the pair of Barrister Sajo Mohammed and Timothy Henman to go for a rerun.

Henman took the second NFF board slot for North-East after polling 32 votes beating Mohammed's 9.

For the North-West, Alhaji Sharif Rabiu Inuwa of Kano state, after ganering 41 votes cast, officially emerged as the representative of the North-West on the board.

The election on the board of the NFF for the South-East was suspended due to the inconsistency in the electoral statutes.

Rt. Hon. Essien Udofor and Aisha Falode took the South-South slot on the board while Alhaji Ganiyu Majekodunmi and Sunday Dele-Ajayi took the South-West slot.

21 views0 comments