top of page
  • tomietoaf

25 NPFL players included in Super Eagles’ squad to play Mexico

Super Eagles head coach Gernot Rohr has left Kelechi Iheanacho, Wilf Ndidi and other Premier League players out of his selected squad to face Mexico in July.

Gernot Rohr, the German tactician in charge of the Nigerian team invited 25 players all drawn from the Nigerian Professional Football League for the friendly encounter against the North American nation on the 4th of July in the USA.

The match, which kicks off at 7.30 pm LA time will be the sixth confrontation between the senior teams of both countries, four of which have ended in draws. The only win in the fixture has gone to Mexico.

Rohr had come under fire severally for not including players plying their trade in the local leagues in his squad for the Super Eagles.

The decision to include only NPFL players in the squad to play Mexico would be most welcome by the fans. The players invited have the opportunity to stake their place in the team ahead of the World Cup qualifiers which would begin in September.

Rangers International FC winger Ibrahim Olawoyin and Enyimba winger Anayo Iwuala top the list of twenty-five players in the squad. Iwuala has already earned four caps for the Super Eagles in 2021

Goalkeeper Ikechukwu Ezenwa, defenders Kunle Adeleke and Olisa Ndah, midfielder Tony Msonter Shimaga and Charles Atshimene are other prominent names in the list.

The invited players are expected to report at the Serob Legacy Hotel, Wuye, Abuja on Tuesday, June with their travel documents. Only 22 of them will travel to the United States of America for the friendly.

Full List of Invited Players

Goalkeepers: Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Heartland FC); John Noble (Enyimba FC)


Olisa Ndah (Akwa United); Adekunle Adeleke (Abia Warriors); Tope Olusesi (Rangers International); Ifeanyi Anaemena (Rivers United); Christopher Nwaeze (Kwara United); Enyinnaya Kazie (Rivers United); Mohammed Zirkiflu (Plateau United); Imoh Ubot (Enyimba FC); Tebo Franklin Degaulle (Nasarawa United); Lawal Oriyomi Murtala (Kwara United)


Anthony Shimaga (Rangers International); Seth Mayi (Akwa United); Uche Nwasonaya (Plateau United); Samuel Nnoshiri (Katsina United); Ekundayo Ojo (Enyimba FC)


Anayo Iwuala (Enyimba FC); Stephen Jude (Kwara United); Ibrahim Olawoyin (Rangers International); Charles Ashimene (Akwa United); Chinonso Ezekwe (Rangers International); Auwalu Ali Malam (Kano Pillars); Neurot Emmanuel (Plateau United); Abdulmutalif Sanusi (Katsina United)

0 views0 comments
bottom of page