• tomietoaf

Russian & Belarusian players banned from Wimbledon

Russian and Belarusian players will not be allowed to compete at Wimbledon this year because of the invasion of Ukraine.

Men's world number two Daniil Medvedev of Russia and women's world number four Aryna Sabalenka of Belarus are the highest-ranked players to be affected.

The players are also banned from any of the UK grass-court tournaments.

The governing bodies of men's and women's professional tennis said the move was "unfair".

The men's body, the ATP, said it could "set a damaging precedent for the game", while the women's body, the WTA, said it was "very disappointed".

In a statement, the ATP said: "Discrimination based on nationality also constitutes a violation of our agreement with Wimbledon that states that player entry is based solely on ATP rankings.

"Any course of action in response to this decision will now be assessed in consultation with our board and member councils."

The WTA said it "will be evaluating its next steps and what actions may be taken regarding these decisions".

1 view0 comments